FLIGHT CONNECTION WITH RYANAIR

Tell us about your Ryanair Flights and Experiences

Moderators: Ryanairflyer, atoutprix

Post Reply
Dean11
FR Rookie
FR Rookie
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 Apr 2017, 12:20
Location: Stn

FLIGHT CONNECTION WITH RYANAIR

Post by Dean11 » 01 May 2017, 21:38

Hi everyone

I am a frequent user of Ryanair over many years. The service has gone from a nightmare to excellent, and pound for pound it is clearly the best airline out there. I want to ask everyone´s opinion of connecting with Ryanair. I am a very frequent traveller to northern portugal and north west spain, using Porto and Santiago de Compostela airports. Recently Ryanair has added Vigo as a new destination, and this is very handy for me. RETURNING TO LONDON I can fly Vigo-Bergamo-Stanstead or Vigo-Dublin -Stanstead , obviously having to connect.. Yesterday i tried this for the first, and possibly last time. I arrived in bergamo at 13.30, and had a 14.25 flight to Stanstead. I paid to sit close to the door, and was first off the flight, to be met by ..A BUS..even worse, two buses, so had to wait for the entire flight to empty to drive us 200 metres to the terminal. i then had to run to departures, jump the queue at security, then run through duty free, up the escalators, back down again, jump the queue at passport control, run to the gate , and just in time got through the gate to ....GET BACK ON EXACLTY THE SAME PLANE THAT I HAD JUST GOTTEN OFF.. Had Ryanair had a connection facility, i could have got off, passed straight through passport control and got back on again. Or even better, if I wasn´t flying outside of Schengen Europe , perhaps waited at the bottom of the stairs to get back on again!!!!!!!!!! I have flown, BA, Iberia, and Air Europa from Vigo via Madrid & Barcelona, and they all offer transit without leaving the airport and coming back in again through security. Will Ryanair EVER do the same, as I cannot seriously see me using them to connect 2 flights ever again..


User avatar
RyanairBristol
FR SuperFan
FR SuperFan
Posts: 279
Joined: 04 Mar 2016, 13:57
Location: LPL

Re: FLIGHT CONNECTION WITH RYANAIR

Post by RyanairBristol » 03 May 2017, 07:05

Hello,

That sounds like a right pain. I have connected via Bergamo but decided to stay the night, it's a really nice city.

It looks like Ryanair are considering connecting flights in one booking. They are trialing this service in Rome. Hopefully this will happen because, especially in peak season, I have found it cheaper to connect via Bergamo, Hahn, or Charleroi.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... -hub-model

User avatar
Ryanairmadrid
FR SuperFan
FR SuperFan
Posts: 454
Joined: 02 Mar 2016, 22:27
Location: Madrid Barajas

Re: FLIGHT CONNECTION WITH RYANAIR

Post by Ryanairmadrid » 04 May 2017, 13:31

Yes they will start connecting flights in Rome this year.
And these things happen unfortunately.
Since they don't have a base at Vigo, they most likely use the Aircraft at Stansted via Bergamo or directly at Bergamo.
But sounds strange since the turnaround time you have mentioned is 55 min.

User avatar
RyanairBristol
FR SuperFan
FR SuperFan
Posts: 279
Joined: 04 Mar 2016, 13:57
Location: LPL

Re: FLIGHT CONNECTION WITH RYANAIR

Post by RyanairBristol » 07 May 2017, 10:39

I would imagine that the aircraft is based at Bergamo but waits 55 minutes for a crew change. This seems to happen quite a lot. It is rare the crew will change in the standard 25 minute turnaround.

User avatar
Ryanairmadrid
FR SuperFan
FR SuperFan
Posts: 454
Joined: 02 Mar 2016, 22:27
Location: Madrid Barajas

Re: FLIGHT CONNECTION WITH RYANAIR

Post by Ryanairmadrid » 08 May 2017, 10:57

Oh right, I hadn't thought about that at all.
I would have imagined they changed in the 25min.


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests